Walking as Spiritual Therapy, Skyclad Therapy

My backpack is now ready for Sunday’s flight to Vienna, Austria.

There are only three more sleeps in my home here on the prairies before I begin the journey to Vienna, Austria where I will join, what will be a group of ten, for a 500 kilometre [300 miles] trek through Austria, Slovakia, Hungary, Croatia, Slovenia, and finally into Italy. I am taking part in the European Peace walk – EPW for short – which was first walked in 2014. I encourage you to read more about the EPW here. Of course, I won’t be walking it while nude regardless of what the image to the right suggests. This is not a NEWT event.

For those interested, my backpack with all that I am taking weighs about 14 pounds or 6.35 kilograms. Of course, I haven’t included water or munchies in the backpack weight as that is something that is constantly changing as a day wears on. My target weight was 17 lbs or 7.7 kg which is about ten percent of my body weight which is accepted as a reasonable weight for long-distance hiking, day-after-day hiking while carrying a backpack.

So why do I do these long hikes? After all, when all is said and done, it isn’t easy or all that kind to the body. Basically, it is the process of walking, or hiking that is at the heart of the matter. There is something that happens to the mind, body, and spirit when engaged in these hikes. It is akin to a pilgrimage where the journey changes the pilgrim. We rarely realise it, but each day that we “walk” through life, we are on a pilgrimage – not one that is tied to a church, but one that is bound to one’s spiritual and physical nature. Consider it a form of therapy, depth therapy, and you get a good idea of what it is all about.

More to follow . . . . . .

2 thoughts on “Walking as Spiritual Therapy, Skyclad Therapy

  1. Hi Robert,

    Thanks for your previous praise on my other comment. This looks like an epic journey you’re about to take. I can relate well to the reflective aspect of walking you’re referring to. I walk a great deal for that very reason.

    One of the most memorable hikes I’ve done, was a 4 day trek across the North Island desert plateau in NZ. This is a wilderness trek among smouldering volcanic peaks. Everything you need is on your back. Bathing etc is local streams.

    It was a real culture shock to live so simply for 4 short days then reenter the madness that is civilisation at the end. We actually wanted to abandon modern life and head back to basics if it was at all possible. I can easily understand why individuals have historically done exactly that.

    As you’ve probably found, walking allows the mind to wander freely, with thoughts, reflections and ideas coming and going in a meditative manner. The need to march on, one foot in front of the other is not dissimilar to breathing meditation.

    All the very best for the trip. I’m sure it will produce many fond memories.

    • Thank you again, Shane. I encourage you to read my pilgrim blog site posts. I’ve blogged along the Camino de Santiago, and have done other nature hikes as well. I’m looking forward to your continued presence here at Naturist Lens.

Leave a Reply

