Independence Day – A Celebration of Freedom

Painted woman.

Painted woman

It’s the 4th of July, Independence Day in the U.S.A. The statue of liberty, a gift from France, the land of my European ancestors, stands proudly as a symbol of liberty and of enlightenment.

“Give me your tired, your poor,
Your huddled masses yearning to breathe free,
The wretched refuse of your teeming shore,
Send these, the homeless, tempest-tossed to me,
I lift my lamp beside the golden door!”

Well, she really wasn’t intended as a symbol of welcome for immigrants though that is how she has been viewed and understood since the above lines of a poem by Emma Lazarus were written.

We are proud Americans!

We are proud Americans!

In my opinion, America has lost its way with its fear of foreigners that is more about exclusion than inclusion. Naturists are excluded regardless of nationality, skin colour, or religion. So many are focused on building a wall to keep out Mexicans and finding ways to keep out Muslims and others of colour. Yet, there still remains a solid core of Americans that embrace the whole of humanity. It is to these Americans that I add my wishes for a great day of celebration of freedom.

One thought on “Independence Day – A Celebration of Freedom

  1. ..

    I’m Sorry but I’m not for any new immigration.
    Upsetting the racial and religious balance the past several decades is at least a little upsetting to me. I like the Indians and other far eastern people and most of their religions. All the Doctors the wife and I have had the last few years are Indians (India) . I’ve had great neighbors some of which were Mexican. I’ve had great neighbors that were practicing Jainism from India, they were great people!
    Some of the whites, not so much!

    As for Islam… the vast majority of Muslims want Sheria or Islamic law and punishments instituted world wide.
    Some day it will happen. Though far more economically efficient than long term incarceration I’m not sure I want my head removed if I want to become a Buddhist!

    But the point with every one in my family and really does upset us is simply over population and strained resources!

    Well we’re headed for little Italy then Little Mexico then down to Chinatown.. Pat S..

Leave a Reply

