Shifting Safe Spaces

Protecting privacy or staying out of sight?

Protecting privacy or staying out of sight?

This is the door to my office/workspace. I always keep it closed when I have a client within as I want them to feel that what is said is private, very private. The closed door makes the room a safe, sacred space. I am typically dressed to reflect the position of therapist – dark pants and a loose sweater that is attractive. I avoid the formal look that was my habit when I was an administrator in the school system.

When there isn’t a client in the room the door is kept open. The room becomes a part of the whole that is our home. Within the room I am usually found writing or working with my photos. Almost always, I am nude in the room. It has been this way for a fair number of years. Even my neighbours are aware of my ‘working attire’ when I write.

Yet now, it has changed. Not the writing nude, but the position of the door. I agreed, for the sake of my wife’s comfort level, to keep the door closed and to make sure that when I leave the room I do so wearing clothing – just in case. The closed door now creates a safe, sacred space for her outside of my room. Strange.

About A Naturist's Lens

I am a therapist that focuses on the use of active imagination, photograph, dreamwork and Jungian Psychology in order to uncover the whole person hidden beneath layers of personae, complexes and clothing.

Posted on November 3, 2015, in Jungian Psychology, Naturism. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

