Facing Change Through Vulnerability and Naked Honesty

A moment of reflection knowing that I will be out of my office for two months.

A moment of reflection knowing that I will be out of my office for two months.

Yes, tomorrow I leave on my two month journey that will be physically, mentally and psychologically testing. Walking a 1000 kilometres – can I physically measure up to this task knowing that I have hip problems and heel spurs? I am not so worried about being able to handle the mental and physical exhaustion that comes with walking between 20 and 25 kilometres each day before searching for a place to sleep for the night. Rather than worry about it, I find myself looking at what I am leaving behind me.

Obviously, I am leaving my therapy practice. Arrangements have been made for contact during the two months, primarily through e-mail, with the knowledge that face to face sessions will resume with my return. I am also leaving my Buddhist corner within my office, my retreat into temenos through meditation. Yet, I will not be leaving behind meditation itself. If anything, I will end up doing more meditation than I have ever done during the pilgrimage tho the end of the world (Finisterre, Spain).

When I return, I will have changed. There is no way one can take such a journey and not change. As I say this, I was thinking of how I will become more of myself in the process, more aware of myself. I wasn’t necessarily thinking about my body changing though that will also be true. Will I return a broken man? Will I still be an advocate for naturism or will I find that I have abandoned that need, that impulse to be nude? Will I return at all? There are no guarantees about anything. But then again, there are no guarantees if one stays home believing that “home” will protect them from change.

One thought on “Facing Change Through Vulnerability and Naked Honesty

  1. Pingback: Facing Change Through Vulnerability and Naked Honesty | Nomad, Geek, Nudie

Leave a Reply

