Naturism and Seeing the World Through a Spiritual Lens

Cleaning up the grass clippings from the sidewalk in our back yard.

Cleaning up the grass clippings in our back yard.

The grass has been growing with a vengeance after three months of dormancy thanks to extensive rains in the second half of July. I will likely be cutting the lawn again before our departure from town for Spain. I admit that I enjoy mowing the lawns, sometimes being able to do so in the back yard while skyclad. The result is pleasing to look at and much more inviting to walk on. I guess if I deserve and need a haircut, so does the lawn, otherwise we both revert to a “wild” state.

Being skyclad is, in part, reverting back to a previous version of what it meant to be human. Clothing existed for a purpose and not as a fashion statement, at least for the peasants, for those who walked away from lives of privilege, lives of oppressive control. Hmm? I guess it isn’t much different now, is it? Adopting nudity as a way of being is a rejection of so many things in modern life. Yet, it isn’t a rejection of the better things that help make us better people. I don’t reject the idea of helping others and being helped; I don’t reject being kind and trying to think before I speak words that might cause damage to another person’s spirit. I like how technology has enabled me to be an artist with the camera and allows me to share with others who I have never met in the face-to-face world. In a way, technology has made it easier to view the larger world as a whole – planet, water, earth, air, animals, plants, and humans – a wholeness that is probably best viewed through a combination of senses, intuition, thinking, and spirit – a spiritual lens.

About A Naturist's Lens

I am a therapist that focuses on the use of active imagination, photograph, dreamwork and Jungian Psychology in order to uncover the whole person hidden beneath layers of personae, complexes and clothing.

Posted on August 14, 2015, in Jungian Psychology, Naturism. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

