Naturism as a Religion

Spiritual practice as a naturist - is this religious?

Spiritual practice as a naturist – is this religious?

I didn’t get to meditate as yesterday as we were travelling to visit our youngest child’s home which is about a six hour drive. Once there, our youngest grandchild. a five year old boy, filled up the rest of the day. Not meditating wasn’t felt as a loss as the gift of unconditional relationship and regard was just as spiritual as meditation, perhaps even more so. If there is no spiritual connection in my day, I feel myself a poor man.

Strangest thing that I learn as I age is that time spent clothing free is vital to my well being. Too many days without  conscious time spent nude (I don’t count sleeping time even though I always sleep nude) and my spirit gets very agitated. It’s as though I find myself going though a period of withdrawal. Yet as soon as I get to meditate au naturel, or be blessed with being bathed with the sun, I find myself in peace and at one with what I can only call “spirit.” It almost feels as though I have entered a form of religious ecstasy. Could it be that naturism is yet another expression of that religious yearning and nature of human kind?

About A Naturist's Lens

I am a therapist that focuses on the use of active imagination, photograph, dreamwork and Jungian Psychology in order to uncover the whole person hidden beneath layers of personae, complexes and clothing.

Posted on July 11, 2015, in Jungian Psychology, Naturism, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Naturism places me immediately into a state of meditation. Without that daily time I am lost.
    My naked meditation time is vital to me – and yes it is a religion – because during that time I feel much closer to God and my fellow man.
    Finn

  2. This is something that I have started noticing in myself also… I find that I need to spend time outside, preferably in a nature setting (trail, or lakeside), at least 3-4 times per week; or I’m am ‘unsettled’

  3. I definitely experience withdrawal during days when I have to be in clothing for longer periods of time, especially when clothed and out and about among others.

    When I spend time clothes free, I feel a kind of ongoing hum of reflection underneath the surface, as of self-inquiry is a more consistent conversation happening.

    I also notice a difference in how I respond to the things around me. For instance, lately, I observe a difference in how I am around bugs. Normally, I scream at the top of my lungs whenever I see them. But when I am outside clothes free rather than retract or squeal I often stay and watch. Even if one lands on me, I don’t draw away as much as I would otherwise.

  4. Jesus said, “I AM the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father, but by Me.”

  1. Pingback: Naturism as a Religion | Nomad, Geek, Nudie

Leave a Reply

