Nudism is More Than Just Being Nude

Shadows appear, a curse and a gift of light and life, into each life that meditates upon self existence.

Shadows appear, a curse and a gift of light and life, into each life that meditates upon self existence.

It’s a different kind of day with sunshine trying to make an impression upon my spirit. Yet, in spite of that light, there are shadows that demand their attention. This morning’s photo captures my mood that is influenced by the weather, my allergic response to forest fires to the north, and a lack of energy. The zebra stripes of shadow and light make me think of the fence that is now repaired. I hide behind that fence, I hide in the shadows.

With depression a part of my life, now not as dangerous as it was in my past, I have learned to use meditation as a pathway back into better spirits. For me, there is a difference between meditation when I am clothed and when I am naked. Without clothing, the very air affirms the ultimate truth of my being. It seems to allow me to slip more easily into peace. Meditation isn’t always formal, as in this photo. All that I need is an intention to be alone with myself, alone and vulnerable to the shadows and light that are buried beneath my exterior. Being alone with myself, naked and afraid and vulnerable, I am daring to heal all the parts of my psyche, even the hidden and unknown parts within my psyche.

Naturism, nudism is more than just being nude. It is a complex interplay of body, mind and spirit. It is both descent and ascent into another world, an interior world. And yes, it is also a challenge to dare honesty with one’s self and with others. Mindful nudism.

9 thoughts on “Nudism is More Than Just Being Nude

  1. Pingback: Nudism is More Than Just Being Nude | Nomad, Geek, Nudie

Leave a Reply

