Naked Union of Opposites

Tantric Buddhism - Yab Yum - union of masculine and feminine.

Tantric Buddhism – Yab Yum – union of masculine and feminine.

More from my novel in progress. But, before I place the next piece here for you to read, I want to comment a bit more on the Yab Yum, the Tibetan “father-mother” image that is found in Tibetan Buddhism. The image of Yab Yum is symbolic of both union and sexual polarity (duality and non-duality) that is a central teaching within Tantric Buddhism, also known as Vajrayana. And yes, actual Tantric practice does involve such a literal union where the male is passive with the female [energy] being the active partner in bringing all to fruition. Of course, I have made this description much simpler than it really is, but there is enough to allow one to become aware of yet another path to wholeness, oneness.

~  ~  ~

All the rooms in the casa were doubles putting Frieda and René together once again. In a way, their ease and familiarity with each other evoked a sense of a couple who have known each other intimately for decades, not as two individuals who had met just a month earlier. As they rinsed their socks and hiking clothes worn that day, they talked easily of the day’s sights. Unspoken was the meditation experienced earlier. It didn’t take long before they joined the others in the garden area bringing a refreshing beverage with them.

“So,” asked Moe as the last of the group gathered in the garden. “Are we ready to talk about this afternoon’s meditation, Sid?”

“I think I want to hear from René first,” replied Sid. “René, can you tell us what it was that you experienced?”

“I’ll try,” he began. “Before I do, would I be correct in suggesting that this was Tantric practice?”

“Yes, you are right. I was certain that you would grasp what was happening. What else can you tell us?”

“Well, as I see it, it fits within a Christian ideal where a man and a woman “know” each other thus creating a bond that is forever inseparable, a holy marriage where two become one.”

“Yes, that is part of what this practice also contains. And?”

“And within my understanding of depth psychology, it is analogous to the alchemical union of the Red King and the White Queen, the masculine and feminine principles that must come together for the psyche to become whole.”

“There, Moe,” said Sid, “is your answer, Moe. However, we both know that you already knew the answer to your question.”

“Ed,” questioned Sid. “Any questions?”

“No, I think I need time to process all of this. I am overwhelmed with what I saw. I only hope that the photos will be good enough though I am not sure what they are needed for to tell the truth.”

Turning to the group, Sid said, “We will meet again, to both look at the photos, and to talk more. For now, it’s time to perhaps retreat to our rooms and reflect.”

Leave a Reply

