Becoming Light in the Darkness of a Modern World

Sacred bread for God's Sacred feast

Sacred bread for God’s Sacred feast

Speak to Us of Love – Kahlil Gibran

Like sheaves of corn he gathers you unto himself.

He threshes you to make you naked.

He sifts you to free you from your husks.

He grinds you to whiteness.

He kneads you until you are pliant;

And then he assigns you to his sacred fire, that you may become sacred bread for God’s sacred feast.

It’s the last day of November, and as with other years, it is the time for me to put up our Christmas tree and decorations. I love this season of colour and lights, a time when as a collective, we unconsciously revolt against the darkness and despair that come with the shortened days, killing cold, and confinement as if we are going into hibernation simply to survive. I opened up the post with another bit from The Prophet, as Gibran’s book has recaptured my attention after a decade or two of sitting on my book shelves.

One of the surprises as I revisited his book was to rediscover his images as well as his words. I wonder if my poetry book last year which paired each poem with an image had its genesis in Gibran’s work? This year’s poetry book is still in the image pairing stage though I hope that in the next few weeks to finish this project.

For now, it is my wish that we all become the light in the darkness that is the modern world.

Leave a Reply

