Naked Beneath One’s Skin

Taking a moment to think about what it means to be a naturist.

Taking a moment to think about what it means to be a naturist.

I guess there is some truth that we choose what we do and who we are for most things in life. I know that for me, There was a choice to stop repressing a need for being skyclad, a need to stop hiding behind all sorts of costumes, roles and social expectations. I could have chosen to stay in hiding. However, I am prone to think that the end results wouldn’t have been very pretty.

Naturism is a therapy, nature’s therapy for the soul. There is no better way to simply experience the fullness of being alive in the world that to make oneself fully vulnerable to that world. It doesn’t take long for a person to “fit” within the natural world, the world of nature, than to be intimately present. I have found that I am able to get much closer to animals, to be seen as less of a threat when I put myself in their environment without need of camouflage. When there is a need for camouflage, a need to hide, there is an aura of danger that then emanates from one’s body and psyche, an aura that permeates the natural world which then becomes wary of something unnatural in the shadows.

Yes, making oneself vulnerable is risky, very risky in our modern western world which understands that the norm is to be hidden in the shadows, to be cloaked in camouflage and disguises and a grab-bag of roles. Strangely, the more we hide our essence as a human, the more we are trusted – we play the game of cloak and dagger with attention to all the details and rules. When we say “fuck it” and toss out the game plans that society has created, we are a threat to the status quo. What if everyone said the hell with it and did their own thing? Then what?

In the end, it comes down to the fact that more than hiding the self from the threats of the collective, one is hiding from the unknowns within our own psyche. Who is that stranger behind the face that stares back in the mirror?

2 thoughts on “Naked Beneath One’s Skin

  1. The title of this post reminds me of a little ditty I wrote years ago.

    Under my clothes I’m naked,
    I’m naked under my skin.
    Both are merely images concealing the truth within.
    When I drop my clothes
    I feel a little free.
    When I drop my skin, I will forever be.

Leave a Reply

