Not The Only Bare In The Forest

It is cold outside.

It is cold outside.

My wife and I have returned from six days of camping and hiking in Canada’s northern wilderness. The weather was perfect for fall camping even though it isn’t officially fall according to the calendar. Mornings temperatures hovered between 3 and 5 degrees Celsius with afternoon temperatures ranging from 9 to 17 C.

Each day we planned our hiking journeys to cover about 20 kilometres of woodland trails, most of these trails through very hilly terrain covered with bogs, spruce forest or aspen forests. I took way too many photos of nature and of my wife – can there ever be too many photos? – with only a few “naturist” photos such as this photo from our first full day, an “after a hike shower” moment.

Being able to be outside in nature seems to be the most soulful experiences I have experienced. To be able to have some of those moments au naturel makes these moments even more fulfilling. Of course not having to put up with mosquitoes and other biting insects also helps, one of the good reasons to hike in the autumn season.

A black bear in the forest.

A black bear in the forest.

I am including a second image, taken while we were on one of our walks, This is a black bear, a mother who was about 50 metres (or less) away from where I stood with my camera. I took other photos of her and her cubs (baby bears), but the camera was unable to capture the images well enough so that the cubs could be readily recognised as little bears.

A second black bear photo taken on our fourth day of hiking.

A second black bear photo taken on our fourth day of hiking.

Over the days, other animals appeared close at hand including another black bear who was alone, likely a solitary male. He was busy eating berries and didn’t notice the two of us. Because we were so close to him, with me being closer than my wife because I was intent on getting a good photo; my wife decided to get the bear spray ready just in case the bear noticed us and then took offense. Well, just moments after this photo the bear did notice my presence. However, instead of attacking, he turned in fright and bounded away from us in a hurry. We met up with him again further down the trail, and again he turned away to disappear into the forest.

I wasn’t the only “bare” in the northern forest.

2 thoughts on “Not The Only Bare In The Forest

Leave a Reply

