Being Responsive To The Weather – S.A.D.

There are clouds and shadows in the early morning.

There are clouds and shadows in the early morning.

I woke up at 5:15 this morning, the same as yesterday morning, in order to put the coffee on. My wife goes to work today and starts at 6:30. It was still dark outside as we sat in our living room drinking our coffee staring out the window waiting for dawn’s light to approach. Finally it was time for her to leave. She has a short walk to work, so she leaves at 6:15, the same time as I took today’s photos. This is the view our our living room window. As I am entering this text, thunder is filling the air waves and the skies are getting darker. This is not the weather that local farmers want as they struggle to get their crops off the fields now that it is harvest time on the Canadian prairies.

window into darkness

Looking out, hoping that somewhere a break in the clouds will give sunshine.

S.A.D., or Seasonal Affective Disorder, is a real part of many people’s lives. Some people are almost not affected at all by the diminishing of light, at least not until there is a long stretch of time when the sun’s rays are absent. For others, there is a quick response to overcast skies leading to a sadness of spirit. I fall somewhere in the middle but it does seem to be getting worse for me, especially when I would be able to spend time outdoors basking in the sunlight while nude. I guess that makes it a psychological response as I respond differently in the winter when going outside while nude is more than impractical.

The skies are now weeping as their tears are blurring my vision out of the window. I can almost feel the anxiety and fear of my farming neighbours. Maybe the sun will peek through later today..

About A Naturist's Lens

I am a therapist that focuses on the use of active imagination, photograph, dreamwork and Jungian Psychology in order to uncover the whole person hidden beneath layers of personae, complexes and clothing.

Posted on August 30, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Bill Rathborne

    Well after a brutal winter it certainly has been a sad sack summer here in Ontario. I think the businesses that depend on beach attendance are licking their wounds. Today it is nice – warm and a bit humid – but the sliding into fall is inevitable.

    I don’t suffer from a severe form of SAD but I guess we all can’t help but contrast the pleasures of just spending time outside nude with being confined to quarters, except for engaging in snow shovelling!

    Well domestic duties call. Time to get dressed again! šŸ™‚

  1. Pingback: A NUDIE DIGEST – August 31, 2014 | Nomadic Nudist

Leave a Reply

