Prayers Of Compassion For a Hurting World

Red sky at morning - sailor take warning!

Red sky at morning – sailor take warning!

I took a road trip yesterday, a trip that took me five hours from my home to get an accutherapy treatment for my allergies. I think these treatments are helping. But before I get on any bandwagon to tell everyone about this treatment, I have to let time tell me just how effective they are. Since I had such a long drive and I expected to return home following the treatment, another five hours at the minimum behind the steering wheel, it meant that I had to get up earlier than normal.  So, I officially got up at 4:45 am and was out of my garage at 5:08 after making coffee and toast to take on the road with me. It took me two minutes to reach the edge of town where I took this photo which is time-stamped at 5:10.

driving

This is how I drive skyclad.

With the first photo of the day taken, I proceeded to drive south then east. Of course, I wasn’t wearing any clothing at the time. I saw very little traffic for the first hour which took me through a town and then a small city. Almost two hours into the drive I decided to stop and take a photo. I made another stop an hour later to get gas for the car. Of course that meant I had to put on something – a tee shirt and my famous blue wrap (I call it my Celtic hiking kilt) – in order to pump the gas and then go into the station to pay for it. No comments were made by others filling up their gas tanks or in while I paid for the gas. Then, it was driving non-stop until I reached my destination, a Catholic hospital and treatment centre. Once I pulled into the parking lot, I slid the seat back so that I could get dressed and avoid controversy and perhaps a legal hassle.

I was early and had about forty minutes extra which I decided could be put to good use. I checked out the Catholic chapel dedicated to Saint Joseph as I had a poem I had written during the winter while in Mexico that involved an altar.

Saying a prayer at the altar.

Saying a prayer at the altar.

The chapel was quiet, just off the cafeteria of the hospital, so I decided I would risk a couple of photos hoping that one would fit into my next poetry book (poems are all written and edited). I took several different photos, skyclad photos. I was so involved in the task, I forgot where I was and the fact that anyone could have entered the chapel at any time during the photo shoot. When enough photos were taken, I got my clothes back on and took my camera back to the car.

The treatment went as expected and I found myself again driving skyclad headed home. On the way home, I again stopped for gas at a busier and bigger gas station, again wearing my “kilt” which is probably too flimsy to be called a kilt. The drive from there was longer than I wanted as I had a forced storm stop – heavy rain and hail – about two hours before home. Still, I got home before my wife got home from work. When she came home I was already sitting and sunning in the back yard, waiting for her to share a glass or two of wine with me. It was a good day.

About A Naturist's Lens

I am a therapist that focuses on the use of active imagination, photograph, dreamwork and Jungian Psychology in order to uncover the whole person hidden beneath layers of personae, complexes and clothing.

Posted on August 2, 2014, in Naturism. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

