The Paths Are The Same, The Hike Is Different

Man was made in the image of God - nude.

Man was made in the image of God – nude.

I have asked for and received permission to use this photo of a man, a married man with three children like me. Like me, he is on a spiritual journey and has embraced meditation, nudity and naturism as part of that spiritual journey. He is ten years younger than I am and lives in South America. I would like him to speak for himself:

“My nudity was an inward and spiritual necessity, it joined the naturism. My process was initially meditation techniques in nature. From then on, the search was and is continuous. [And] since I left my clothes [to] live nude [it] is not [to] live without clothes, but [to] live with different eyes, with [a] different mind, with continuous healing spirit, with the soul in continuous search – the paths are the same, the hike is different.”

The discovery that there are more and more people such as myself who are looking beyond, beneath and within for meaning as humans has given me greater courage to be myself, to dare being fully myself. A long time ago I wrote about how Sydney Jourard’s book, The Transparent Self, had been a part of the influence that helped explain my personal shift to consciously becoming vulnerable in the external world. I have also frequently referred to Jungian psychology as “peeling away layers” to reveal an authentic self. And, I have frequently spoken about how meditation au naturel has served to connect me with a larger sense of the universe, a spiritual dimension that cannot tolerate disguises, masks or false images.

In our religions we are taught that humans were made in the image of their Creator, perfect creations, created naked and vulnerable and beautiful. Somewhere along the way we have lost that innocence and learned to believe that the Creator made a mistake in creating us naked. We have learned to that to be naked is to be sinful, even evil. Our holiest garb has us so covered in cloth that our bodies have disappeared within the coverings so that we become sexless beings.

Learning that I am constantly changing with each breath, each moment and interaction with the world, teaches me to be more gentle with myself and the world, as well as it teaches me to cling less to old habits, beliefs and false security. I was surprised earlier today to find these words that led me just a bit further along my journey to being an authentic and transparent being.

“We are given changes all the time. We can either cling to security, or we can let ourselves feel exposed, as if we had just been born, as if we had just popped out into the brightness of life and were completely naked.

Maybe that sounds too uncomfortable or frightening, but on the other hand, it’s our chance to realize that this mundane world is all there is, and we could see it with new eyes and at long last wake up from our ancient sleep of preconceptions.”

Waking up. Stripping off the clothes and facing the world totally vulnerable and with honesty is frightening in many ways, particularly in this modern world which is hell-bent on punishing those who dare to be authentic. But as Pema Chodron points out, it’s our chance. I grew tired of darkness, of fear and of hiding. Now, like my friend from South America, I dare say, This is who I am!

About A Naturist's Lens

I am a therapist that focuses on the use of active imagination, photograph, dreamwork and Jungian Psychology in order to uncover the whole person hidden beneath layers of personae, complexes and clothing.

Posted on December 29, 2013, in Jungian Psychology. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Love this post finding our true selves means stripping away the layers of attachment.

  2. “But to live with different eyes, with a different mind”

    This struck me as one of the fundamental issues around the practice of naturism that is so difficult to explain to others, who for whatever reasons are not attracted to naturism or regard it a somewhat strange or perverse. (For the reasons suggested here by Robert) …. And barely tolerate friends who practice as odd ducks at best! 🙂

    There appears to be a very, very wide spectrum of motivations that attract individuals to naturism/nudism, some less noble than others. However, where seeing with different eyes and thinking with a different mind, that expands one’s perspective, opens up to nonduality, seeks to translate the practice of naturism to a concrete philosophical outlook as to how one lives one’s life in the company of others, is a powerful statement in support of what superficially is seen as just not wearing clothes.

    I “think”(?) it can make a substantial collective difference in the quality of human civilization, however, it seems to be an issue of critical mass at this point. Every measure would suggest that the practice is well below critical mass and somewhat under attack by a growing global conservatism and mounting pressures for conformity.

    Even without the actual expansion of social-naturism, considering it, exposing its vital, life altering impacts and importance on a human scale, as is being done by Robert here, is important.

    Also, of course, saying, “this is who I am!”, is vitally important since the message has to be more about just not wearing clothes but an important statement about, living with different eyes and thinking with a different mind. Perhaps, and only perhaps, those with the “different” eyes and minds can make a substantial difference in the world.

Leave a Reply

