Naked Reflections on Being Authentic and Transparent

Sometimes it is enough just to be yourself.

Sometimes it is enough just to be yourself.

As I sit here this morning wondering what I will write about, with too many ideas racing though my head, I turned to a collection of images that are resting on my desktop, images I have both taken and collected from other places. I think back to a number of years when I was constricted, barely able to breathe for the tightness in my chest and the vice-grips that had imprisoned my soul. None of it made sense as I had a good life as a parent and spouse with a good career that had earned me a lot of community respect. What had been responsible for my dark state of being within the embrace of family and community? What had changed between then and now when I can once again breathe without worry of the shadows that are still present on the periphery?

My writing since that time of darkness, a writing that had found its way into a number of formats – discussion groups, poetry, reflective journals, blog posts and stories that acknowledge the reality of darkness that broods with a life of its own, within the compass of my life. As the stories emerged, I found myself battling the emerging monsters and ghosts, never able to defeat them, but finding a way to co-exist with them. I created a space where whatever and whoever it is that I identify with as my self, a legitimate space hard-earned.

As the spaces opened up and breathing returned, somewhat to normal, other images of the unconscious emerged, images of those moments in time when I had previously felt whole. More often than not, the images showed a transparent self, one that didn’t hide in closets or in cardboard boxes. I saw myself without the borrowed clothing of others. Yes, I saw myself without clothing, daring to be exposed to the universe. Of course, I was a child, a youth, and later a very young man when these rare experiences were lived. To be graced with these images bathed in light in a world and life that was otherwise darkness, allowed me to remember, to re-member that child, youth, young adult into a much older adult. And so I dared to search again for those spaces and places where I could risk being authentically and transparently myself.

My life has changed, dramatically because of my work with writing and with my risking being vulnerable. I have learned, perhaps for the first time, that it is okay to be me. I now know that I don’t have much choice but to be authentically me if I am to continue breathing without the power of the darkness once again imprisoning me so that I become only a shell of a man.

6 thoughts on “Naked Reflections on Being Authentic and Transparent

    • Am I happy? Well, the truth be told, I am fairly content with where I find myself at this point. I can’t say that I am sad or depressed – content yet still going forward balancing my way between darkness and light.

  1. You have much of value to offer gained from your own release and awareness. There is, I think, much more of value in fictional accounts based of course on real experiences and Jungian principles than the magical thinking of “secrets” to provide pathways beyond the shadows and imprisonment of one’s past.

    I hope you have the time and energy to pursue your intentions since it seems to me there is some considerable potential of providing many with real assistance. As with all professions there are those who deride “populism”, however there is always a place for plain language and broad public exposure to the ideas and issues that you are addressing, both the shadows of Jung and the issue of naturism.

    The Internet has provided unique experiences for those with something of value to say to speak and also to see their contribution more directly than ever. I applaud your courage and boundless energy. It is all good!

    Bill

Leave a Reply

