Feeling Free – NaPoWriMo – 4

It’s day four of the poetry challenge for NaPoWriMo. I have to admit, that it isn’t as easy as it sounds. I still haven’t thought of the poem for today, but I decided not to worry about it. I told myself just to sit still long enough in front of my laptop and let the words come out. So that is what I am going to do. It is all a surprise to me, so let’s see what emerges.

 Peaking Out the Door

The weather is beautiful with sun shining
and temperatures that are inviting
Peaking through the screen door
I catch a light breeze that promises warmth
without worries of burning
It is early morning and quiet

Peaking out the door, I wonder if I dare
to chance opening the door and stepping
out into the sunshine wearing nothing
but my morning smile

What if the neighbour wakes and opens her door?
What if there is a stranger who will walk
into the garden and see me?
What would I say?
How could I explain it?

An old man
a naked man
outside and
running with sunbeams
in his head
smiling inside and out

Opening the door,
I tentatively step out
touching the cement with my bare feet
The pull to let go of the door
is too strong.

The door shuts behind me
and I am free

3 thoughts on “Feeling Free – NaPoWriMo – 4

    • Thanks for adding your words in, here, Sassy Couple. It’s nice to know someone hears what I am saying. 🙂

Leave a Reply

