Accepting Someone As They Are

Power and authority

Power and authority

Due to the fact that when one is in a social gathering of naturists and nudists, there are no signifiers of power and authority.

The bank president, the CEO, the doctor, lawyer, the construction worker or the waiter all look the same – nude. If there is anything that reduces a group to being potentially democratic in sharing of power, it would be the practice of being together wearing only their skin.

It doesn’t take long for one’s attention to shift from the physical presence to the psychological presence of a person, that is getting to know the person who lies under the surface of the skin or the clothing that disguises and hides. I chose today’s topic because of a tweet I found in my Twitter feed, a tweet sent by LamySandra:

” Si vous connaissez un ami qui ne vous accepte pas tel que vous êtes, c’est qu’il n’est pas votre ami.” – [Sandra Lamy, 13-01-2013]

[If you know a friend who does not accept you as you are, is that it is not your friend.] It is about acceptance as you are, something that clothing somehow makes more difficult.

Deliberately setting oneself apart - "See me, I'm someone."

Deliberately setting oneself apart – “See me, I’m someone.”

Should we dress in a certain fashion, it invites a limited set of people to enter into possible relationship and excludes many, not always consciously.

Women of ill-repute?

Women of ill-repute?

Should a woman dress in a manner that some would consider provocative then there is an unconscious mind set in the eyes of other women and men. Yet, should that same woman be among the same group of other men and women, that mind set would not arise.

When the clothes come off, who do you really see? Is it easier to get passed collective and personal projections and stereotypes in order to discover the truth about the individual and perhaps find a true friend?

Spencer Tunick image - everyone becomes just human.

Spencer Tunick image – everyone becomes just human.

13 thoughts on “Accepting Someone As They Are

  1. Reblogged this on View from a grassey knoll and commented:
    It doesn’t take long for one’s attention to shift from the physical presence to the psychological presence of a person, that is getting to know the person who lies under the surface of the skin or the clothing that disguises and hides.

  2. All very well said, most of our nude friends including ourselves are from a professional back ground but you would never know it when we are all enjoying all of our nude activities.

  3. Having only been naked, in the sense of nudism not in the married sense, with one other person I can’t say if I agree or not but your article does make a great deal of sense to me. Being naked with my friend in the privacy of home did, after the initial embarrassment, provide a greater feeling of freedom of expression. Something I had never considered or even really known about until recently has now become an everyday part of life. I’m not so certain about being naked among others. Perhaps it is only another step to take after all is said.

    • Yes, perhaps it is just another step,Kate. Thank you for offering a bit of your story here. I feel honoured by your comment and your taking the time to read this article. Hopefully, you will return again and again to read more and add in your thoughts. 🙂

      • You are as young as you feel, Kate. I have to keep telling myself the same thing as I have always been the adult, “senex in Jungian speak”, the serious one. Now well into retirement I am learning to find my playful, youthful side (a bit). Keep coming and commenting here. It is very much valued. 🙂

    • I have been a nudist since I was about 12, My current wife for about 9 years. The first time she went to a nudist resort with me she was very nevous, for about 10 minutes. She then said it was the most comforting, and liberating thing she has ever done. There are few people at these places that look near perfect, the actuallity is all shapes and sizes. However no one cares, that’s the beauty, no one is judging. Some of the most fullfilling moments I’ve had was standing next to someone of the opposite sex and having a meaningful conversation about everyday life while helping to prepare a meal etc. We hope you enjoy your next step.

      • It’s so kind of you to share your wife’s first visit with me. I must say I am very, very apprehensive about going naked at a beach or anywhere else however, I am assured by what you’ve said and when the time comes, if it comes, I hope I will enjoy it as much as you do. Thank you for the encouragement.

Leave a Reply

