Nude Meditation and Bindu

meditate

Meditate on It

 

The gift of learning to meditate is the greatest gift you can give yourself in this life. For it is only through meditation that you can undertake the journey
to discover your true nature, and so find the stability 
and confidence you will need to live, and die, well.” (Sogyal RinpocheThe Tibetan Book of Living and Dying)

It has been an interesting day for me, one that resulted in delaying the writing of this post amongst other things. I took today’s image from the Smithsonian Magazine site as it resonated with what I was feeling, where I have been and to where I am once again heading. Though it is -20 C outside the walls of my home, I sense the upwelling of vital energy within me, an energy that is both body and spirit. There is a term for this – bindu.

Bindu is held to be the point at which begins creation and the point at which the many becomes the unity. It is also described as “the sacred symbol of the cosmos in its unmanifested state.”

This idea of becoming one is both a Buddhist and a Jungian concept. I now had a term for the energy field that was wakened, so I went in search of more, first turning to one of my books by Chogyam Trungpa:

“The physical act of sex has often been described . . . as an act of noncompletion. Sex is seen as a clumsy way of releasing your bindu. Bindu in this case is the essence of the body; often it is equated with semen, but that is not necessarily a good definition. Both men and women possess bindu. Bindu is the essence of the mind and essence of the body.” (Trungpa, Work, Sex, Money, p. 102)

As I meditate nude, there is a blossoming of energy that touches the roots of my body as well as my mind which embraces so much more that what I should know. And as I am awakened to this bindu, I experience a freedom that far surpasses that of simply being clothes free. I feel the fullness of being a man, the fullness of being a child of the god and goddess.of all creation.

7 thoughts on “Nude Meditation and Bindu

  1. Dear Friend,
    Thank you for this interesting Post.
    After reading your Post it comes to me that I have to specify/add a little on what Trungpa writes :” Sex is seen as a clumsy way of releasing your bindu”.

    Sex is a way of activating (waking) Kundalini – (the copulation is seen in the picture of the statue of one of your former Post, were the Godhead is in copulation position with his Shakti).

    Sex only becomes a clumsy way (in the manner of speaking of Trantra), when the raw energy of Kundalini is released with semen in a ejaculation.

    When this is ”not” done, and after practice, one can experience Kundalini moving upwards and activates the other Chakra’s.
    And then one is able to understand, that sex practiced in this way is not a clumsy way of releasing your Bindu, but, symbolical speaking (one of the ways) that allows the Lotus to emerge from the dark mud into the beautiful flower, when touched by the Sunlight.

    As I know too little of Alchemy, I can’t be sure, but maybe the state that one reaches after experiencing the activation of the higher Chakra’s seems to me as the state that you described as Rubedo in your former Post.

    • Yes, the activation of higher Chakra states would be analogous to the Rudedo state. Thanks for bringing Kundalini into this discussion. There is much to learn yet for me. Hopefully there is enough time (body time) for me to do this work, as well as the opportunity to seriously do the work.

Leave a Reply

