In Search of the Authentic Self

It isn’t often that I borrow images from others, but today’s image is one that just begged to be brought here.  I came across this image thanks to one of my Twitter friends, someone who had found the image at a site called Poor Artists hosted on Tumblr.  I then went in search of Paige Bradley’s own page where the statue is featured in four different settings. I encourage readers to check out both sites as there is so much to see.  The world is richer than one often thinks.

In a way, I find this to be a synchronistic event, the “tweet” to view the image.  I am reading Women Who Rub With the Wolves, by Clarissa Pinkola Estés.  In the book she talks about accessing the Wild Woman or La Loba:

Each woman has potential access . . . She arrives there through deep meditation, dance, writing, painting, prayermaking, singing, drumming, active imagination, or any activity which requires an intense altered consciousness.” (Estés, Women Who Run With the Wolves, p. 30)

How fitting an image to go with this ancient idea!  Yet, that is not all that was synchronistic for me.  As several of my recent posts have discussed, naturism is another current area of study, the idea of being Sky Clad as an outer expression of honesty to match the quest of discovery of the authentic self.  This image, Expansion, addresses this quest as well.  I guess I could say that I am double lucky in having this image appear in my life at this particular time.

 

About A Naturist's Lens

I am a therapist that focuses on the use of active imagination, photograph, dreamwork and Jungian Psychology in order to uncover the whole person hidden beneath layers of personae, complexes and clothing.

Posted on July 6, 2011, in Jungian Psychology, Naturism. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

