Daring and Dreaming

dsc05761Faceless … dreams are often faceless.  When I lead dream work, especially with groups, I had a person present a dream several times, each time from the point of view of other figures in the dream and of the apparently inanimate objest as well.  At that time I understood this as the Gestalt approach to dream work.  Then, I rethought exactly what I was doing from a Jungian standpoint where the dreamer is all parts of the dream.  The archetypes and images that are shifting in and out of one’s dream are communication attempts between the self and the personal and collective unconscious which has but one goal, bringing the shadow to light, becoming fully aware – individuation.

I often dream but have given up working on my dreams for the past number of years.  And now, the dreams are coming faster than ever.  One aproach to understanding what is currently happening involves Mayan prophecies surrounding the end of the Mayan calendar come the winter equinox in 2012.  Gwynne Mayer writes in “Gateways to 2012“:

We have been discussing the energetic of 2012 and how the planet is speeding up its own energies aligning itself with the galaxies and we are focusing on how this is affecting us as our lives seem to be folding in on themselves.  Our dreams are becoming more intensive, our interactions with others are intensified and it seem we are all being bombarded from the personal to the political arena…it is all part of the soup we are in, as Carl Jung use to say. We in the psychological field are definitely skewed in our frame of reference as we see person after person struggle in this area, not to mention those peers of ours in the healing professions try to gain balance and not get tipped over in this topsy turvy world.

I find this interesting stuff indeed, especially since Gwynne is counted among my friends for many years.  This speaks of energy, about an heightening of senses.  But, I want more right now.  So, I turn to C.G. Jung:

The dream is a little hidden door in the innermost and most secret recesses of the soul, opening into that cosmic night which was psyche long before there was any ego consciousness, and which will remain psyche no matter how far our ego-consciousness extends. For all ego-consciousness is isolated; because it separates and discriminates, it knows only particulars, and it sees only those that can be related to the ego. Its essence is limitation, even though it reach to the farthest nebulae among the stars. All consciousness separates; but in dreams we put on the likeness of that more universal, truer, more eternal man dwelling in the darkness of primordial night. There he is still the whole, and the whole is in him, indistinguishable from nature and bare of all egohood. It is from these all-uniting depths that the dream arises, be it never so childish, grotesque, and immoral. (C.G. Jung, CW 10. page 304)

There, this is what I have been trying to remember.  my dreams are my doorway, my portal to my soul, the portal to unity.

4 thoughts on “Daring and Dreaming

  1. There is definitely something going on..I too have been dreaming what feel like important dreams lately.
    I had a funny collision of dream and reality today at work; a colleague I haven’t seen since last season came into the staff room and greeted me. The thing is, the words she used were exactly the words that I’d dreamed but one of the visiting Germans who I know quite well said them, not my colleague. Odd. I miay write about it!

  2. I am seeing and hearing all manner of issues coming to the forefront. It appears that many people of my acquaintance have been deciding that their long-term marriages do fit anymore for a whole host of reasons. Usually sex takes the rap but at the core of their dis-ease with each other is something deeper and more fundamental.

    It does pay to acknowledge one’s dreams, not necessarily to decode them, but simple to be aware that there is deep work happening. The work happens whether one is conscious of this work being done, or not. Being conscious of it allows us to begin to recognize some of our shadow stuff in the outer world. We begin to own our own stuff rather than project it onto someone else.

  3. very true.
    I’d dreamed that on being met by by someone I’d not seen in almost a year, I was met with surprise that I was still in that job and not moved onto a highflying job elsewhere. In the waking world, I was met by a kind colleague who I’d not seen since August, who expressed the same surprise in the same words as my dream. In the end, it probably comes down to my own disappointment that I have not managed to get something better and more in keeping with both existing skills and with my potential. Both women had in life expressed some concerns that I was too good for the job I am doing. Mix it all up in the deep mind and sleep brings an answer of sorts. I have had prophetic dreams many times but this one I think is a little different.
    Last night before the dog woke me at 4.30am I dreamed I was rearing two orphan lion cubs, was about to bottle feed the smaller of the two. When I got back to bed I ended up back in a vivid and confusing cycle of dreams that became lucid and even more vivid.but waking now, I try to understand the message, and again fail.

  4. Dear Sir,

    I have been introduced to your wonderful web page thanks to LinkReferral.com and I am glad I have. 🙂

    I could read some of your blog’s content and have to say that I find it quite soothing and refreshing.

    All the best.

Leave a Reply

