On Iguanas

Iguana on a rock pile near Puerto de Chuburna

There are quite a few natural life forms here in the Yucatan that I have managed to photograph:  birds, insects and animals.  I have frequently found iguanas emerging from piles of rocks or from crevices in walls to bask in the warmth of the sun.  This fellow had his cheeks puffed out, something I had not seen previously in my wandering through the countryside with the camera.  My first thoughts were that this likely had to do with searching for a mate, for the feminine.

Looking at the iguana in the photograph back on my computer after the walk, I thought of urobos, the lizard who tries to consume himself, to feed himself, to somehow become transformed.  And then as I looked at the head, I had a fleeting thought that it resembled a penis.  A penis in search of nourishment, in search of nourishing, in search of the feminine.

About A Naturist's Lens

I am a therapist that focuses on the use of active imagination, photograph, dreamwork and Jungian Psychology in order to uncover the whole person hidden beneath layers of personae, complexes and clothing.

Posted on January 21, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

